That’s a Wrap!

Posted on

ImageWriting 200 has been an enjoyable journey through the various realms of social media and in what ways those avenues of communication relate to nonprofit organizations. The class ended up being a pinch different than I thought it might be, but I believe that is a good thing. It opened my eyes a bit to the side of social media and social networking that is more about social causes than about any one individual’s recreational use of assorted social media outlets. Indeed, before taking the class, I only really thought of social media in recreational terms, though I was vaguely aware of the presences of the public, private, and nonprofit sectors on such sites as Facebook and (more so) Twitter. 

Beyond becoming more conscious of nonprofit organizations’ use of social media in their communication strategies, I also enjoyed learning about social media platforms that I was not at all familiar with. Two such platforms were ones discussed in class earlier today – LinkedIn and Pinterest. The benefits of having a LinkedIn account seem to be plentiful; it is the perfect place to show yourself off to potential employers. I actually made an account during the presentation. Pinterest seems like something I’d be less interested in spending time on, but I can also see how it would be useful in terms of marketing brands and causes. It was interesting to hear about both of them.

Before Writing 200, working with nonprofits had not been on my mind whatsoever. Now that I have experienced the class, I think it is definitely something to consider in my future endeavors. In fact, I am applying for the Detroit Partnership Planning Team for the upcoming school year so that I might gain some more experience. Writing 200 turned me from a solely recreational user of social media to a more mindful user. I now feel I have the capacity to implement effective strategies in order to run a social media campaign, and I do not doubt these skills will come in handy down the road.

And for the sake of ending in the same manner I began, I’d like to finish with a quote:

“Far and away the best prize that life offers is the chance to work hard at work worth doing.” – Theodore Roosevelt

One thought on “That’s a Wrap!

    Christine Modey said:
    April 22, 2014 at 3:06 PM

    I like the way you end this reflection with the quotation from Teddy Roosevelt. I completely agree!

Leave a Reply

